Welcome to the official web site of  the
Association of Papal Orders in Great Britain
of Pius IX, Saint Gregory and Saint Sylvester.
Hon. President
His Eminence Cormac, Cardinal Murphy-O'Connor, Archbishop Emeritus of Westminster.
(His predecessor was His Grace Miles Francis FitzAlan Howard, Duke of Norfolk,
KG, GCVO, CB, CBE, MC GCPO, DL, Earl Marshal of England, who died in June 2002).

Rt. Hon. Sir Swinton Thomas, KCSG.
(His predecessor was the late British diplomat Sir Paul Wright, KCMG, OBE,
who died in June 2005).

Hon Secretary
Mary Maxwell, DSG, DC*HS.

Hon. Treasurer
John Gibbs, KSG.

Ecclesiastical Adviser and Chaplain
Rev. Mgr. Vladimir Felzmann, KCHS, DD, Msc (Eng).

Committee Members
Francis Ayers, KSG, KCHS, ACIB,
John Barrie, KCSG, FCA, FCMA, JDipMA,
Richard Brumby, KSS,
Lord Mark Fitzalan Howard, OBE, KCSG,
Mary Goodwin, DCSG, DGCHS,
Robin Gowlland, KCSG, KCHS,
Dr. James Hagerty, KSG, BA, MA, MPhil, PhD, FRHistS,
John Hardman, KC*SG,
Dr. Bozena Laskiewicz, DCSS, FRCS, DLO,
William Metcalf, MBE, KSG, KGCHS,
John Scanlan, KCSG, KGCHS,
Prof. Mark Watson-Gandy, KSG, KM,

Hon. Webmaster
David A. R. Waterton-Anderson
KSG, OLJ, BA(Hons.), COMT.
In modern times, British citizens have been generally made members of the Pontifical Orders of “Saint Gregory the Great” or “Pope Saint Sylvester,” with the other Orders being reserved for Sovereigns and Heads of State or high ranking government or diplomatic officials.

The Pontifical Orders represent one of the highest and most prestigious distinctions which the Pope, who is not only Supreme Pontiff and Head of the Roman Catholic Church, but as ‘Sovereign Prince’ (Fons Honorum) of the Vatican City State can bestow on an individual.  Such awards are made to lay individuals, both male and female, largely of the Roman Catholic faith but also to those of other Christian denominations and indeed, other faiths also.  Such awards are granted in recognition of an individual’s pre-eminent service to their faith, community, or the work of the Holy See on a local, national and international level.

When such an honour is bestowed, the recipient is warmly invited
to become a member of the Association .
Content      copyright 2007 - 2013  Association of Papal Orders in Great Britain.  All rights reserved.
Design       copyright 2013   David Waterton-Anderson KSG.  All rights reserved.
Founded in 1960, the Association of Papal Orders in Great Britain consists of members who have been honoured by the Vatican State as either a Knight or Dame in one of the Pontifical Orders.  The Supreme Order of Christ, The Pontifical Order of the Golden Spur, The Pontifical Order of Pius IX, The Pontifical Order of Saint Gregory the Great and the Pontifical Order of Pope Saint Sylvester.